My Skincare Routine

18 May

Hey guys, I wanted to share with you my fairly new skin care routine that I started two months ago, and the reasons why I love what products I am using lately.

I used to just use dial soap in the shower and sometimes let makeup cake up in my face until the next day. At that time my skin was blotchy, my under eye circles were intense and my skin would peel near my t-zone. I happen to have oily/combination skin.

I decided to start taking better care of my skin out of the blue, just out of curiosity wondering if this is as good as it gets. Needless to say, my face was thanking me by revealing a glowy, clearer complexion, and doing a happy dance (more like happy lift).

So I’ll first start with this extremely beneficial tool. I purchased my LAVO Giro Cleansing System through Amazon. From what I hear it’s currently sold out at the moment, so I’m sure the Olay Cleansing System or any one for that matter, does the trick. Yet what is so awesome about the Giro is that it comes with four pieces! A body exfoliating brush that I use for body scrubs in the shower, a pumice stone foot maintenance, a sponge to apply moisturizer, and the brush for cleansing. Here’s a nice YouTube review on the product that I found helpful before I purchased. Be your own judge!

Lavobrush

I am currently on the hunt for a replacement brush, as over time it does become harsh. In the meantime, I like to use a deep conditioning mask for the hair on the bristles and leave it on the brush head over night. I also like to disinfect it every few days with dial soap and alcohol.

I have heard that any brush head is applicable to every cleansing system, so if anyone has any advice on this part, feedback is appreciated. Now on to the facial products!

Depending on the time of day, I like to use the Garnier Clean+ Soothing Makeup Removing Cleansing Towelettes for Sensitive Skin. I’ve found that these are better than the original makeup removing wipes I used from Neutrogena, and removes product like a charm. Plus I love that it’s made for sensitive skin.

Garnier Wipes

So I wipe off my makeup, and I wet my face a bit before turning to my St. Ives Blemish Control Green Tea Gel Cleanser. It’s suggested you use the cleanser with the scrub, but I like to use a different one and we’ll get to what that scrub is shortly.

It’s honestly one of the best cleansers I’ve ever owned because I tend to break out with product cleansers, but this gel cleanser is so soothing you’ll love the feeling. It does contain salicylic acid, which helps prevent acne and controls oil on the skin.

StIves

I bought my cleanser from my local Walgreens, and apparently this is another product that’s high on demand online, as it’s hard to find. I suggest visiting your local CVS or Walgreens, or you can check out Amazon.com, but this product is being sold in packs of 3. Heck, for the price of 3 or 4 bottles it’s worth it and you won’t be running out any time soon.

Before I do anything else, I use my L’Oreal Paris Hydra Fresh Toner. I didn’t realize how beneficial toner is until I did my research. In fact here’s a little explanation that I feel did all the toners of the world justice. Since I’ve used a toner, my skin is more even and less blotchy. Toners are supposed to lock in the moisture after your cleanser and before you moisturizer. This toner does just that. I won’t be searching for any other toners after having owned this one.

LorealParis

After my cleanser it’s time to put on either my night cream or my daily moisturizer. I’ll pretend its day time now, and then transition into my night cream. The Aveeno Daily Moisturizer in Ultra Calming with SPF 15 is what I’m using now.

I do like this moisturizer, but once I finish it I want to try a new one. If it wasn’t for my buffing sponge from my Giro Cleansing System, I’d think this one is a little bit too oily for me. I’m really pleased with how the moisturizer looks under my makeup, but it does have its flaws. For now it’s doing its job, and if I can’t find better, then this would be it for me.

aveeno

As for my night time cream, let me share this little gem with you. This is the Olay ProX Hydra Firming Cream. I only buy mine on Amazon, as it’s the cheapest I can find it and ProX products are expensive. Since it’s from Olay, a proven line that fights anti-aging, I love it. This product dries fast onto the skin without leaving it flaky.

I have sensitive skin, and I can say I have yet to have a breakout from this and I’ve used it for over 30 days. If they made a day cream like this, I’d totally get it. I like to call this my little Botox in a bottle, and it keeps your skin looking radiant. I do believe my lines look smoother since I first started applying it religiously. Being 25 years old is no excuse to not use anti-aging products, and if you’re looking for an inexpensive line to invest in, look up Olay Regenerist or Olay ProX. Don’t know which one is best for you? Check out this comparison here!

Olay

Last but not least (I left it last, because I use it the least) I’m going to discuss my Eclos Anti-Aging Radiant Facial Scrub. This product is so amazing, and leaves your skin truly radiant after a use. The formula is made out of sea salt, so don’t be alarmed if you get a bit in your mouth and it tastes like the ocean. It also has an interesting effect.

If you put it on with hot water, guess what? The formula turns HOT. It’s crazy, I know. I don’t really know how that happens, probably a chemical reaction. So I like to use this once a week with cold water.  It will give you a nice cooling feeling, it just depends on what temperature you like your water at.

eclos2

I use this stuff sparingly and not every day to prevent drying of the face. It’s sea salt after all, but I’ve seen other people’s reviews and some use it every day. I can’t as I have sensitive skin but if you have the same skin as me, no worries because YOU CAN use this scrub, I think every one can of all skin textures.

So that’s it for my skincare regimen. I hope an in-depth look into what these products do and how well they do them has helped you in your decision making on selecting products to incorporate into your skin care routine. Until next time!

3 Responses to “My Skincare Routine”

  1. Em / Han May 29, 2015 at 8:50 pm #

    I really want to get myself one of the brush things maybe it will motivate me to stick to a routine. Thanks for explaining about toners, never really knew before and now I think I may both with it x
    em // em&han xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab May 29, 2015 at 11:07 pm #

      No problem, I didn’t know about toners either. I actually might be buying myself a clarisonic now that I loved this brush a lot. It’s a way to get into facial brushes for sure!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2016 Favorites Skincare Products | The Gift of Gab - March 11, 2016

    […] am constantly on the hunt for new skincare products, and my skin has changed drastically since last year’s skincare favorites post. I now have skin that breaks out for everything, and many skin allergies. […]

    Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

