My Juicing Favorites

25 May

Remember how I raved about my blender? Well now I… Gabrielle… can now rave about my very own JUICER.

Yes, the times are changing, indeed. This is the Breville Compact Juice Fountain. It’s affordable and super duper cute! Isn’t she pretty?!?!?!?!

Juicer

If you’re someone like me who was confused about what’s the difference between juicing and blending, check out this article by Joe Cross explaining why juicing might be a bit more beneficial (blending is great too). Though you have to constantly clean the inside if you like to juice multiple drinks at a time like I do, it sure beats paying $300 for one that does the same job with just a bit more space to hold pulp. My suggestion is just scrape some of the inside pulp that’s gathered, and keep on juicing away!

Now besides the veggies and fruits that go into a juice, I’m sure people wonder what other possible condiments can go into one as well. For me, I personally cannot live without Mint leaves, certain spices and stevia! There is a secret to good tasting juices, after all.

 IMG_2235

Mint goes into just about every juice I make (unless I ran out then it’s time to cry in a corner). It’s just a wonderful little herb that gives your juices a nice zesty zing of flavor. But as I spoke about in my Juice of the Month for May post, mint has so many benefits.

In my March Juice of the Month post, I rave about how spices such as cinnamon are good for the body. Yet two other spices I like to add to my juices everyday include turmeric and nutmeg. Turmeric is an anti inflammatory, and often used as a holistic alternative to body pains. Nutmeg supposedly helps you concentrate, and since I’m always on the run and want to keep a sharp mind at work and off work, I incorporate nutmeg powder into my juices. These three are never not in my tummy!

spices

Another secret I’d like to share: Juices don’t taste that good. Yep I said it. So with the help of another little plant, stevia saves the day. I put at least 1-2 packets of stevia in ALL of my juices no matter what. The only exception that I don’t need stevia is when I’m juicing oranges. I highly recommend it for those who haven’t tried it. While you’re add it, throw some pineapple slices in there too. You’ll see how unnecessary stevia can be then.

stevia

But for every other time, especially juicing those healthy greens, stevia is a must for me. There is nothing wrong with that. In fact, some people put a scoop of their favorite protein powders that may hold so much more sugars in them in their juices. So stevia isn’t a no no… it’s a yes YES.

Those are just some of my favorite juicing necessities I like to use on a daily basis. Incorporate these into your juices for a more delicious and enjoyable way to keeping healthy!

2 Responses to “My Juicing Favorites”

  1. beautywithmonica May 31, 2015 at 7:37 pm #

    I actually started thinking about juicing in the other day (blending,i mean, cuz i don’t have a juicer YET). Although i might cheat and throw some sugar in there :))

    Like

    • The Gift Of Gab May 31, 2015 at 7:42 pm #

      That’s fine! Before I got my juicer, everything was blending for me. Check out some of my recipes in the wellness section for ideas 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

