Juice of the Month: “On-the-Go” Juice

1 Jun

Hey guys,

June is upon us! These little recipes are getting harder to brainstorm upon, so any suggestions would be great as well. For now, I’ll try my best!

This recipe I’m going to share with you today, is one of those “my fridge is empty, I haven’t gone grocery shopping” kind of recipe. We are all so busy, and kind of excuse ourselves from juicing when we don’t have all the right ingredients of amounts of it. Well I’m going to tell you what I do when this happens… I gather all of what I do have left, and make a concoction out of it.

ingredientspic

With my “On the Go Juice”, I’m going to take the 3 pieces of pineapple I have, the rest of my bag of kale left, the 1 halo/tangerine I have, the only Apple I have, the rest of the cucumber that is left from cutting away from, and lastly the table spoon of ginger that’s been sitting in the corner of my fridge.

You’ll be receiving little packs of punches from all types of vitamins! Kale is the most vitamin dense green there is, so the more the better in my opinion. It takes A LOT of kale to fill a cup when using a juicer, so just take whatever you have left even if it’s a handful, and include it with the rest of the ingredients. I like to pour water ontop of the kale so that it juices smoother. I don’t know exactly if this works, but I do it just incase. Even just the smallest bit of green helps!

juicepic

Pineapples are super delicious and lucky for us, good for you! There’s controversy as to where the pineapple was first discovered, and supposedly it was not Hawaii, but South America. Pineapple fights inflammation and helps with the digestive tract. The antioxidants in pineapples such as beta carotene and the enzyme bromelain combats joint pains and body aches. In fact, pineapples are the only known source to contain this enzyme. Just another excuse to incorporate some chunks into your On-the-Go juice!

Ginger is also a top notch ingredient that I include in every juice, I can’t stress it enough. It’s known for it’s use in Chinese medicine. Tangerines contain a good amount of vitamin C, and taste so delicious. When eaten daily, apples combat any infections in your immune system. How can you pass that up?

pouringinjuicerpic

Another ingredient I’d like to discuss is cucumbers. Cucumbers are a part of the Cucurbitaceae family which includes the honey dew, cantaloupe, and watermelon. It’ known for it’s refreshing qualities, and is sometimes used in detox water. If you haven’t tastes cucumber water before, trust me you’re missing out. Any left over cucumber pieces can just be thrown into a pitcher of water and left over night in a fridge.

The benefits of cucumbers include contain lignans, which combat cancer cells and reduces your risk of cardiovascular diseases. Since they are used in spas on your eyes as a soothing mechanism, they are also used internally as just that as well. Cucumbers are a great way to increase your water intake, and keep hydrated.

So if you have theses ingredients or not leftover in your fridge, make sure you use whatever you do have left and create your own juice recipe. You’ll be surprised at how creative you can get and plus. your body will thank you in return.

Happy June! 🙂

5 Responses to “Juice of the Month: “On-the-Go” Juice”

  1. Natalie June 1, 2015 at 1:25 pm #

    I love “running out of food” concoctions! Looks really healthy and delicious 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 1, 2015 at 10:54 pm #

      lol yes it’s always fun to invent new recipes on a whim, thanks! 🙂

      Like

  2. belouise June 1, 2015 at 2:09 pm #

    This looks so delicious and healthy! Health kick inspo ❤️❤️ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rachel June 2, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

    I’d love to give juicing a go it seems so beneficial for your health 🙂
    Didn’t realise cucumbers were so good for you!!
    I think I’d try and do a recipe with watermelon.

    The Everyday Life of Rachel

    Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

