My Everyday Foundation Mix

11 Jun

It’s time for foundation mixology 101!

Some people love high end foundations, others love their drugstore foundations. Due to being on a budget most of the time, I like to mix and match two drugstore foundations. I recently switched over from powder foundation to liquid, and needless to say I was afraid at first.

I live in South Florida, where the humidity is at an all-time high and make up melts off easily. If you have oily skin or like matte finishing foundations and are looking for some good liquid ones, I’ve got some recommendations for you!

Let’s start with my mixture of matte liquid foundations. I like to use Revlon’s ColorStay Makeup for Oily/Combination skin and the new L’Oreal Infalliable Pro Matte Foundation. Why in the heck would I want to spend over $10 for two drugstore foundations? I do this because I feel that while they are both awesome foundations, they both lack one thing that the other can do for it.

products

For example, I found that I liked the Infallible a lot, but I found a flaw. This foundation tends to build up into your creases, and I have flaky sides on my nose at the moment. I hated that it highlighted those imperfections, but loved that it covered everything amazingly well. It’s an awesome full coverage foundation, and the color was great for my skin tone.

With the ColorStay, the finish was beautiful and matte. It’s a gorgeous foundation, and definitely worth it. What I didn’t like was that it didn’t cover as well as I’d like it to. The formula doesn’t highlight your fine lines and imperfections, and leaves a somewhat airbrushed look to it. Here I was, with two full sized bottles of foundations and not wanting to use either or because I found flaws with them. Naturally, I just did what I do best… IMPROVISE.

Let me tell you, I’m so happy I listened to myself. Now that I use both foundations together, I feel like I have the perfect drugstore foundation formula ever. Granted, it’s still not perfect, but the coverage is great, and my imperfections are minimalized.

Exampleface

I like to take a few drops of each foundation and place it onto the back of my hands. I then take my Bare Minerals Smoothing Face Brush, and dip it into the mixed formula. I then stipple (push the product into) the foundation on my face, and go over the spots I’d like more coverage with the Infallible.

To finish off my foundation, I take my wet Real Technique’s Miracle Complexion Sponge and go over my whole face to give it a more natural look. I have some redness in my face and hyper pigmentation around the eyes, so before AND after applying foundation I use my E.l.f. Tone Correcting Powder Palette to tone down any discolorations in my face. The powder is great for setting as well, as it gives you a smooth and matte finish.

There you have it! A nice finish to the face for everyday use. These are my current favorites, and in no way was I sponsored to make this post. I would tell you guys if it was!

What’s your favorite foundation or foundation mixtures?

Until next time!

18 Responses to “My Everyday Foundation Mix”

  1. Erin June 11, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

    I actually really love the Colorstay, but I did notice it because it was by far the lightest foundation I could find! The combination of the two works so well on you though! I know you’re not 100% with it, but it really does look nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 11, 2015 at 2:03 pm #

      Thanks! It does take some time to adjust, I just feel I need a bit more coverage on some spots than others. Revlons Colorstay makes your skin look refreshed and glowy, it’s actually really wonderful especially in the summer time!

      Like

  2. Aleeha June 11, 2015 at 4:02 pm #

    Oh wow, I have both of those foundations so I will definitely try them together!
    Aleeha xXx
    http://www.halesaaw.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 11, 2015 at 4:16 pm #

      You must! You’ll be pleasantly surprised at how great they are together! 🙂

      Like

  3. Lauren June 11, 2015 at 5:09 pm #

    Love the L’Oreal Infallible!

    Lauren x | http://kissand-make-up.blogspot.co.uk/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kirsty June 11, 2015 at 6:05 pm #

    I’ve never actually tried either of these foundations, but I do tend to mix my foundations also. I use Bourjois Healthy Mix and Estee Lauder double wear together x

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 11, 2015 at 6:26 pm #

      I’ve heard great reviews on the double wear. I love mixing foundations too!

      Like

  5. Elisabeth Hayes June 11, 2015 at 6:38 pm #

    Such a good idea to mix the two together to create a foundation perfect for you, I wouldn’t have thought to do that!

    xo, Liz
    http://lipstickandconfetti.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Krista June 11, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

    This is a great idea! I love the L’oreal Infallible Foundation, but I know what you mean about it clinging to problem areas, as it seems to gravitate toward and highlight any dry patches I have. I haven’t tried the Revlon Colorstay in a long time, I might have to pick up another bottle! x Krista

    I’d love it if you’d take a look at my blog if you have the time! xo
    http://www.lovekrista.com | bloglovin’: Love, Krista

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 11, 2015 at 10:31 pm #

      Yes! Those are my problems with the Infallible as well. Try the Revlon Colorstay along with the Infallible for a softer look and less patchiness!

      Like

  7. Jessica E. Douglass June 12, 2015 at 12:46 am #

    I wear this combo myself! 🙂 I find that the Infallible mixes well with almost all foundations I’ve tried!

    xoxo

    Jessica

    http://www.blushandbaubles.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 12, 2015 at 1:33 am #

      Ah, someone who thinks like me! It’s truly wonderful to mix the Infallible with others for sure 🙂

      Like

  8. Frankie June 12, 2015 at 9:40 am #

    I love the Infallible foundation, however i can never get the right colour!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 12, 2015 at 2:04 pm #

      Yep same here, that’s why I pretty much like to mix the formula. You gotta try it! 🙂

      Like

  9. Rachel_Colley June 12, 2015 at 3:19 pm #

    Your skin looks flawless!!
    I love mixing foundations together it’s a lot cheaper than going and buying another one!!
    The Everyday Life of Rachel

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab June 12, 2015 at 4:24 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I totally agree. Although high end foundations are great, I like to shop on a budget and in order to get that flawless formula, it’s best to mix up foundations for me! Let me know if you try it out!

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

