July Monthly Favorites

31 Jul

Hey there!

July is through with and gone, so let’s get down to it when it comes to what I’m loving right now. Everyone raves about Coconut oil, but did you know just how many great things you can do with it? I have been using coconut oil for the longest time on my hair. I like to work it into my scalp for a mask effect, and then rinse it out after 30 minutes and inside of the shower.

monthlyfavsall

I’ve also began using it as a part of my skincare regimen, by using it as a makeup remover after my makeup removing wipes, and before my cleanser. I don’t suggest it as a moisturizer because no matter what type of oil you’re using on your face, it does clog pores. Letting it sit into your skin might cause trouble, especially for someone with sensitive skin like me. Perhaps if the coconut oil came in a concentrated serum form, I’d feel safer about letting it absorb in the skin.

Speaking of serums, I did a review this month on OZ Naturals Hyaluronic Serum, and it quickly became a staple in my skincare routine as well. I just love how it absorbs in the skin, and has vitamin C and E in it. I have been wanting to try their vitamin C serum for the longest, but this has double the nutrients for my face. I’m just so happy with it, and so it’s in my July favorites!

facecreams

The new eye cream I’ve incorporated into my routine is from Physicians Formula, and at around $5, I plan to keep repurchasing it in the future. It’s basically petroleum jelly in a jar, and yes it is greasy when applied to the eye area, but I don’t mind. I have dry under eyes, and I love the feeling at night that it gives me. In the morning, I feel the area is more refreshed and hydrated. By that time, it is not greasy anymore. I’ve even applied it to my eyes when I had an eye allergy, and it soothed it like no other.

blushing

Has anyone invested in L.A. Colors’ eyeshadow palettes? Apparently they are drugstore brand, and extremely affordable. As I’ve recently experienced, the color pigmentation and the application of these babies has left me stunned. I did a nice drugstore.com haul the other day, and purchase three of their eyeshadow palettes. I’ve never been happier with a drugstore brand eyeshadow than I am with these. The texture of each shade is silky, and not chalky at all. Here is a look I created with L.A. Colors the Blushing Nudes palette. Keep an eye out for a full review and swatches on all of the palettes I’ve purchased from L.A. Colors coming up next month!

blushingnudelook

I’ve had my Queen Helene’s Masque in Mud Pack for such a long time, but I recently became obsessed with a Dead Sea mask that I shoved the clay one in the back of a drawer for months on end. It wasn’t until I began breaking out from taking a break from my cleansing facial brush (opposite effect, I know) that I took the clay mask out and had a nice session to remember just how good this product is.

This is perfect for people who don’t want any scent in their facial masks and like a simple clay formula. It definitely clears out the impurities of your skin, and I’ll be using this one every time I feel my skin is acting up. Not sure why it has these corrective properties, but I noticed my skin got back to normal after a few mask sessions, so yay for Queen Helene’s Masque in Mud Pack!

elfspray

I tried a mist spray that wasn’t my favorite Smashbox priming water one ($35 eekkk), and traded it in for $3 e.l.f. setting spray that works JUST as good. I actually would compare the two, because both feel like water on the skin and both uphold makeup all day long. If you’re looking for a makeup setting spray similar to the Smashbox one, the e.l.f. one is a perfect dupe. I’ve also heard about the NYX setting spray, but e.l.f. still comes in at a lesser cost. Who could say no to just as good, but cheaper?!?! Not me.

So that’s it for my July favorites! I hope you enjoyed this post and have found it helpful deciding on your own summer favorites. Until next month!

Products Listed

Better Body Foods Organic Coconut Oil

Queen Helene Masque, Mud Pack

L.A. Colors 12 Color Eyeshadow Palette in Blushing Nudes

e.l.f. Makeup Mist and Set

OZ Naturals Hyaluronic Acid Serum

Physicians Formula Luxury Eye Cream for Normal to Dry Skin

4 Responses to “July Monthly Favorites”

  1. Kim July 31, 2015 at 2:35 pm #

    I love the Queen Helen brand of masks but I’ve never tried the mud pack one, I’m definitely going to have to track that down! Awesome favorites! XO -Kim
    http://www.thethirtysomethinglife.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab July 31, 2015 at 3:07 pm #

      It’s definitely worth the try! Thanks I’m glad you liked! 🙂

      Like

  2. Erin July 31, 2015 at 4:16 pm #

    I remember once reading (or maybe hearing) about all kinds of different uses for coconut oil and I had forgotten about it until now! There was definitely a large list, definitely worth the purchase!

    It’s funny how people seem for overlook elf! Their products are so inexpensive but so good!

    Erin
    http://orchidsandtea.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab July 31, 2015 at 4:32 pm #

      Yea I sometimes forget myself how great coconut oil is, until I remember it’s in my pantry and I haven’t used it in over 2 weeks or so. Elf is such an awesome company with some great quality products for an affordable price. Might have to do an elf favorites post soon! 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

