Julep Maven’s Welcome Box Review

10 Aug

Hey everyone!

How many of you have heard of Julep Maven? If you’re like me, you’ve only heard of it at Sephora or through their “Free Welcome Box” offer online.

Before I proceed, I just want to be clear that these are my experiences alone, and others might not have the same view on this company. It’s a great concept, but unfortunately, this is not a good review. Maven lovers, you’ve been warned.

After signing up with them for what I believed to be as my one time only free welcome box trial a few months back, my biggest regret was not questioning, “What’s the catch?” The only reason I found this subscription website, was through good ‘ol fashioned website advertisements.

1

So I figured since I got myself into this mess (you have to call and beg them to cancel your subscription), I figured I’d make the best of it and share my review of their products. It’s only fair, right?

It’s in their “Thank you for your purchase” email that Julep Maven reveals you have just agreed to a subscription with them for $24.99 a month. So technically, their welcome box is not entirely free. You pay $2.99 for shipping, in which you have to give them your credit card information. This is exactly where they get you to pay a mandatory $24.99.

Once you are a member, it’s only after you’ve paid $24.99 for your first subscribed box, that you may cancel your account. That’s a whole month of waiting people. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

After a bit of anxiety on the idea of being charged so much after this first $2 box, I ended up biting the bullet on the fact that I’ve just accepted the deal, and now I was curious to see what products they actually send. What comes in a maven box? Take a look at the welcome box!

2

I received the spring welcome box, which included a lip gloss and three nail polished. The lipgloss came in the shade “Graceful” and the nail polishes were named “Shelly”, “Flora”, and “Vicki”. I have worn “Shelly” for an entire week, and had no problems of chipping or the way it glided on the nails, but I have also worn “Vicki” for an entire week before it completely started peeling off, and was lucky enough that the formula even dried. I have yet to try to wear “Flora”, but I’m in no rush. Here are some swatches for you guys, including how “Vicki” looked like once it dried (after more than two hours).

swatchnails

vicki

I thought the formula of the nail polishes was a hit or miss depending on the color, and the lip gloss felt cheap. The pink was too sheer, and didn’t last long. I am not a fan of “sticky” lip glosses, I even despise MAC’s lip glasses due to that factor. I just wasn’t impressed, and a bit jaded with my subscription deal by the time the welcome box arrived at my house to be honest.

swatchlip

Unfortunately, I felt that three nail polishes and a lip gloss was not enough to keep me happy about spending $24.99 a month. I decided to cancel my subscription, in which I had no problems doing so with customer service. I personally couldn’t be more relieved that I did.

Some people like Julep Maven, and if you’re really big on nail polishes, maybe this subscription box service will keep you happy. If you’d like to join Julep Maven, visit here.

As for my experience, I wish I was a happier camper than I ended up being.

Just had to be honest, until next time!

2 Responses to “Julep Maven’s Welcome Box Review”

  1. Erin August 10, 2015 at 5:06 pm #

    That does not in anyway sound like $25 well spent, I don’t blame you at all for cancelling that subscription! I hadn’t heard of the box before, so I’m glad you’ve posted your experience with them!

    Erin
    http://orchidsandtea.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab August 10, 2015 at 5:13 pm #

      I know a lot of people who speak against Julep Maven do receive backlash, because the reality is that there are content customers with the company. I have just explored more options that have better formulation, and for $24.99 a month, this was just my opinion. Glad it was a help! 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

