August Ipsy Glam Bag Review

28 Aug

Hey there!

This month’s August Ipsy Glam Bag was pretty nice. I was impressed with all of my items, and the bag is adorable. The theme for this bag is “Prep School”, and I think it’s my favorite bag they’ve released yet! Checkered printed items are so trendy, and the pink contrast zipper added a feminine touch to it.

IMG_5033

Let’s start with my favorite item in this month’s bag. That would be the Tarte LipSurgence lip gloss in energy. This lip gloss smells like cotton candy and it was a sheer flushed pink color once applied to the lips. I loved how this imitated the “bare healthy lips” look, and would be perfect for everyday use.

The natural flushed lip look is gorgeous, and I’m so excited I got this color. I usually hate pinks, but if their sheer, I am a happy camper. Also, this formula was creamy but not sticky at all. A very hard quality to find in a lip gloss. If there ever was a perfect gloss, this is it. Best one yet.

IMG_5058

I have never heard of this company before, but the JUARA Turmeric Radiance Mask was put in my bag this month. Now I was a little put off by this one at first, because once I applied it, it disappeared quickly and got absorbed into my skin. It also did burn a little bit, but didn’t leave my face red either. I was happy to find out that this mask wasn’t drying at all.

It left the areas I applied it in much smoother afterwards. It’s aimed to minimize pores, and I think it definitely did that as well. I will only be using this on the areas where my pores are biggest once a week probably. It was an interesting mask, and I’m glad I ended up liking it.

IMG_5045

I have heard rave reviews about this next item, and the Marc Anthony Nourishing Argan Oil does live up to its hype. First off, this came in a huge full size, which I was surprised by. I am a huge fan of hair oils, and if it has nourishing properties, I’m all for it! The scent smells great, and I applied it on my dry hair first to try. After application, my hair felt softer instantly. What a great item Ipsy gave me!

OFRA provided a lip liner to Ipsy, and I got the color Wine. This liner was not my favorite, because it applied in a chunky type of way. I wish it applied smoother. This color was nowhere near a “wine” shade.

IMG_5044

This was more of a brown-rose nude, than a deep wine color. This item wasn’t bad, but not great either. Since I’ve heard them hyped up, a lip product I do wish that OFRA would release is their liquid lipsticks in mini sizes, and offer them through Ipsy to try next!

The Longwear Eye Liner Pen that I received from Starlooks was pretty decent. It does have great durability, and after leaving it swatched on my hand for 24 hours, it only flaked slightly. This eyeliner holds up good, but it’s not difficult to take off, which I am happy about. I liked this eye liner very much, and will be using it on the daily now.

FullSizeRender

Alright guys, that was it for this month’s Ipsy Glam Bag. Just a quick note: I’ve been seeing a lot of people ask the question lately of “Which is the best beauty subscription box”? I want to add that I keep maintaining my liking for Ipsy, because this bag is geared towards makeup more so than any other subscription box/bag company.

So if you’re a makeup lover like me, and you get your skincare products in another form, then this is a great bag to subscribe to. I have all of the links below. I can’t wait to see what’s in my September bag!

Thanks so much for reading, and make sure to subscribe!

Products Listed

Ipsy Bag Subscription

Starlooks Luxe Longwear Eye Liner Pen

OFRA Cosmetics Lip Liner in Wine

JUARA Skincare Turmeric Antioxidant Radiance Facial Mask

Marc Anthony Nourishing Argan Oil of Morocco Oil Treatment

Tarte deluxe LipSurgence™ skintuitive lip gloss in energy

2 Responses to “August Ipsy Glam Bag Review”

  1. carmen August 28, 2015 at 4:58 am #

    I’ve never subscribed to Ipsy but I’ve tried Glossybox & Birchbox; I wasn’t super impressed. :]

    // ▲ itsCarmen.com ▲

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab August 28, 2015 at 5:36 am #

      I think if you’re more of a makeup lover, Ipsy would be great to try!

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

