Products I Regret Buying in 2015

4 Sep

Happy September guys!

I want to start this post off by saying, I won’t be doing any more “Juices of the Month,” as I’ve began a new series of posts called “Get the Look” for you guys, and up keeping with new juice recipes does not coincide with my schedule at the moment.

I can only focus on one series at a time, and I felt it was time to retire the juice recipes. You can still see previous recipes that will be timeless on this blog, by searching under the Wellness section of the menu.

Now onto a post I’ve been anticipating on writing out for you, my most regretful buys. I totally regret spending my money on the products I’m about to mention, and it’s such a shame because some of them were products that were hyped up for some reason or another. I want to keep it honest with you, so let’s begin with body products.

IMG_4978

I purchased the Neutrogena Deep Clean Long Lasting Cleansing Mask about a few years ago, and it’s just one that’s been sitting in a drawer.

I pulled this one out to give it a go after such a long time, and I remembered why I hated this cleanser so much. I broke out everywhere, and it was certainly painful. This might work for anyone else, but for those with sensitive skin, I’d say steer very clear of this product.

Another product that’s bad for sensitive skin, at least mine, was the Pacifica Body Butter in Hawaiian Ruby Guava. Granted, I bought this body butter when it was still available in a tub, and I think now a days you can get this in a squeezable bottle.

IMG_4974

I’m not sure if the formulation has changed on this one, but I did read that it was parabens free. Unfortunately for me, parabens was the least of my worries. After applying this lotion on my body, I broke out into hives.

Yes, a huge allergic reaction on my skin had surfaced, and I found the culprit to be this. This lotion now sits in my guest bathroom, in case anyone else would like to use this. I’ve heard it’s a popular body butter.

Onto the makeup! I purchase two products from L.A. Colors that I’m not pleased with. This first was their CoverUp! Pro Concealer Stick. I bought this to use as a contour, and got a few shades darker than my natural color.

IMG_4975

Let’s just say this concealer is extremely horrible. It’s so thick, like paste, and it smells like burnt rubber. It was only $2, and although I am a fan of L.A. Colors’ eyeshadows, this is one I would toss out of the window.

The second was their largely hyped up on YouTube is the Pro HD Concealer by L.A. Colors. I have no clue why everyone swears by this concealer. It hardly covers anything as far as concealing dark circles, and the applicator is terrible.

IMG_4972

It gushes everywhere once you squeeze the bottle to get the product out, and worst of all, there is water squirting out. I don’t know if I got a bad batch or not, but along with my concealer, is a lot of water. I find it super gross, and just not worth it.

I grabbed a bottle of the Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous Foundation because of its popularity rating. This is another one that was largely hyped up, and I happen to think that this product was sponsored and that’s why so many popular beauty bloggers/vloggers raved about this. If you have big pores, steer clear of this. You could see every imperfection underneath the foundation.

IMG_4973

I purchased mine in Natural Beige, and once I applied it to my face, it seemed to have oxidized and become a white color. That’s the problem with some SPF foundations, the white cast on your face can be a problem. This was just a terrible foundation, no matter what I mixed it with or how I applied it.

There are more than enough lip colors I do regret buying, and here they are! I bought a Charlotte Ronson lip gloss in Eleanor that was in the sale section of Sephora a long time ago. It was no more than $5, and I hear that this gloss goes up to $10 or more on the regular.

I never use this gloss because it doesn’t matter how many times you layer it, it hardly shows up on the lips. Maybe it’s just too close to the color of my natural lips, but I think they might as well have called this a lip tint. It also smells horrendous, like rotten mint mixed with chemicals. I can’t stand it.

IMG_4971

The other two lip products are from NYX Cosmetics, and they are the Xtreme Lip Color in Nude Peach Fuzz, and the Soft Matte Lip Cream in Istanbul. These are two very hyped up colors on social media as well, so of course I bought them. Istanbul and Nude Peach Fuzz swatch beautifully, but on the lips they are too intense.

It feels like you’re applying a nail polish on your lips when you use Nude Peach Fuzz. It’s a terrible formulation, and if you have cracks in your lips, you will see them. Istanbul does not look good with my complexion, and I look like I’m ready to go to a rave instead of the office when I apply it. I can see how these would be hits to some of you, but for me, they were a total miss.

IMG_4976

When I first heard of NYX’S Illuminator highlighter, I was so excited to get my hands on it. It wasn’t until I realized it feels like foil on your face and never blends well, that I wish I had my money back. I have tried plenty of other liquid highlighters that did blend great and that I do like, but this one just made me feel like a clown. It’s hard once it dries, and I am not a fan.

A palette I wish I saved my $15 on was from NYX again, and this time it was from their Dream Catcher line in Stormy Eyes. Some shades were more pigmented than others, but to create a nice clean eye look was such a pain.

IMG_4977

The colors become muddy went blended together, and most of the pigmentation is not all that great. I’d say this is something I’d buy my kid if she was practicing makeup in high school. Definitely not for true eyeshadow palette lovers for sure.

Lastly, I just regret buying this “wannabe” foundation brush. I looked for the name on the brush, but there was no label. I had forgotten where I purchased this, so please bear with me, or suggest where you might know it from!

IMG_4970

Anyways, the bristles are so flimsy and soft, it’s hard to apply any product to the face or even attempt to blend. I never have any used for this, as it is just unusable in my opinion. I wouldn’t even use this for cream contouring. I think I spent a pretty penny on this brush, and it’s such a shame.

As a review, we can say that while I am a huge fan of L.A. Colors’ eyeshadow palettes, I am not thrilled with their concealers. NYX has some amazing products, but I can definitely point out the ones that were misses for me. Charlotte Ronson made just an okay lip gloss to sell to the masses at Sephora, but I won’t be looking twice at her section any time soon.

Covergirl, please update your foundation formula for the Outlast Stay Fabulous, and I need to learn to look at the back of body products before I apply it to my skin. That’s about it for this year’s regretful buys, what are some of yours? Thanks for reading!

Products Listed

L.A. Colors CoverUP! Pro Concealer Stick in Warm Beige

Neutrogena Deep Clean Long Lasting Cleansing Mask

Pacifica Body Butter in Hawaiian Ruby Guava

Charlotte Ronson A Perfect Kiss Lip Gloss in Eleanor

NYX Cosmetics Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator

NYX Cosmetics Dream Catcher Palette in Stormy Eyes

NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream in Istanbul

NYX Cosmetics Xtreme Lip Cream in Nude Peach Fuzz

Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-In-1 Foundation in Natural Beige

L.A. Girl Pro Conceal HD Concealer in Creamy Beige

Foundation Brush (Unknown Name)

6 Responses to “Products I Regret Buying in 2015”

  1. Jasmine Riel September 4, 2015 at 6:07 am #

    Bleh, regretted purchases are just the worst! Thanks for sharing, though – really helps out those who might have been on the lookout for some of these products.

    thesixthdisneyprincess.blogspot.com

    Like

    • The Gift Of Gab September 4, 2015 at 6:16 am #

      Thank you! I wish I knew in advance before ever purchasing these. I’m always open to reading other people’s product regrets, because they tend to be more honest than someone who was sponsored to talk about the products in the first place.

      Like

  2. martinbeks September 4, 2015 at 1:20 pm #

    I think the worst product I ever bought was this lip gloss from New York Color. Soooooooo drying. Like, not even chapstick over or under helped. In fact, I think the chemicals in the “gloss” sucked up any moisture anywhere. Tossed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab September 4, 2015 at 1:49 pm #

      There will always be some overrated product, and though NYC is a decent drugstore brand, I can imagine they definitely have their own misses in the midst of hits. I’ll be sure to stay away from lip gloss from them though, thank you! 🙂

      Like

  3. Erin September 4, 2015 at 3:43 pm #

    Ugh, buying products that are hyped so much only to have them be total flops is the worst! I hope you found the ingredient(s) that gave you hives – it definitely sounds like something you’ll want to avoid (no kidding, Erin)!

    My biggest disappointment recently was a foaming cleanser by Garnier. People kept saying how much they loved it, but when I tried it, it barely did what I wanted it to do (cleanse) and dried my skin out! Horrible. I hate wasting money.

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab September 4, 2015 at 5:06 pm #

      Yea it’s crazy how people can over hype certain products and they are total crap. That sucks about the Garnier foaming cleanser that dried out your skin 😦 I hope you found one better suited for you. It’s always a gamble when relying on paid or sponsored reviews of products, because you never know how you’ll end up liking it yourself! :/

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

