Get The Look: Texurized Waves

11 Sep

Hey guys!

Today’s “Get the Look” is going to be on those trendy soft texturized waves we’ve all been trying to figure out how to do. If you ask me, I’ve tried a curling iron, scrunching, and a ton of other ways to achieve this look.

KimKIt wasn’t until I realized if you use a straightening iron, you can achieve a piecey texturized look when creating the waves in your hair. It was the Kardashian’s hair stylist, Jen Atkin that revealed this trick on Instyle.

Since you’ll have product in your hair before using an iron, it’s important to use your preferred heat protectant spray or balm before your hair has dried. I like to use the Tresemme Keratin Smooth Flat Iron Smoothing Spray or It’s a 10 Miracle Leave In Conditioner.

Heatprotectantitems

After you’ve let your hair dry completely, you’ll be needing is a good sea salt spray. The best sea salt spray that I’ve used was one that I received in my July Ipsy Glam Bag, which was a Coolway Beachy Spray.

As demonstrated in the video, take your flat iron and pull each strand away from your face, and then ever so lightly create a wave, but also make sure to let go in between these waves you’re creating. I made the mistake to keep going, and ended up with a regular flat piece. Practice makes perfect!

Addtextureitems

To add volume, use a texturizing spray or a dry shampoo like Jen says to. I have used It’s a 10 Miracle Blowdry Volumizer, RUSK Texture Spray, and Redken Cerafill Maximize Texture Effect Hair & Scalp Refresher. To achieve a more dramatic feel to the pieces, I have put a little oil in my hair to make it piecier, and I loved the outcome.

I use a drop of coconut oil and I ran in through my strands, but not with my fingers. I just grabbed each piece and rubbed it in. The result is an effortless, everyday wave.

Getlookmypost

What are your favorite products that you’ve used to create this look?

Thanks so much for reading, until next time!

UPDATE: Since this post, I’ve found an easier way to create these waves, using less product. If you’re interested, watch the demo below!

Products Listed for Texurized Waves

It’s a 10 Miracle Leave In Conditioner

Tresemme Keratin Smooth Flat Iron Smoothing Spray

Coolway Beachy Sea Spray

Complete the Look

It’s a 10 Miracle Blowdry Volumizer

RUSK Texture Spray

Redken Cerafill Maximize Texture Effect Hair & Scalp Refresher

3 Responses to “Get The Look: Texurized Waves”

  1. Erin September 11, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

    Your hair looks so nice! I’ve never even tried to get this look, haha. At the moment my hair is too long and heavy (it needs a cut desperately!) so I’ve never bothered to figure out how to do it.

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab September 11, 2015 at 4:55 pm #

      Thank you! My hair has grown quite a bit, it always looks best when you’ve had a fresh cut to do this. Gotta head to the salon asap lol

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updated: Soft Texurized Wavy Hair | The Gift of Gab - November 19, 2015

    […] might have seen my post on how to achieve soft texturized waves in one of my Get the Look posts, but I found that a lot of the products I mentioned in that post […]

    Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

