Maybelline The Nudes Palette Review

18 Sep

Hey everyone!

I know I’m a little late on this item, but as for my purchase of $7 at Walmart for Maybelline’s The Nudes Palette, I had to fill you guys in on how I feel about it. I know Ulta, Target, Walgreens and other mass retailers have significantly different prices for this palette, so I suggest Walmart (and I’ve listed the link below) if you want the best bang for your buck.

paelette

The Nudes comes with an assortment of 12 shades, and I suppose it’s an imitation of Urban Decay’s Naked 1 palette. There is also the Blushing Nudes, which has been compared to the Naked 3 palette. There are a bunch of palette’s being released by high and low end makeup brands that are competing with Urban Decay’s Naked palette series.

I found that some of the darker shades all look the same once applied to the lid, so it can get muddy really fast. I use the lighter shades that don’t quite show up on the skin as transition colors. Some have shimmer to them, and some don’t. I would say this palette is more for everyday use and for those who are looking for a subtle look.

spraybrushThe golden hues and highlighter colors in this palette can apply faintly without the proper steps taken to prepare the lids. If you’d like to amp up the intensity of pigmentation, I suggest you wet your brush first by spritzing your favorite setting spray a good few inches away from the brush before picking up product onto your brush.

Water works just as well, just make sure you don’t completely dip the brush to soak. You just want that nice little mist on the bristles, that way they show up more. With the look I created, this was the method I used.

You can create a nice smoky eye with this as well if you choose. It’s a day and night palette to me. You MUST apply a good concealer or primer in order for these colors to show up even the slightest bit. I didn’t really experience too much fall out, because the shadows are more chalk like than silk talc like. Again, just make sure not to over blend with the darker shades. They’ll all look the same on the lid.

techniquesused

I like this palette, but it took some time to grow on me. Now that I know how to use it, I absolutely love it. Would I buy it again? Seeing as I am a budget shopper, and always looking for a versatile palette of day and night looks, yes I would.

That’s all for now. Stay tuned for more reviews I have lined up, as well as some tips and tricks! Thanks so much for reading, and enjoy the rest of your day!

Products Listed

Maybelline New York The Nudes Eyeshadow Palette

Method of Application: Eye primer, Wet dipped eye shadow brush into product, setting spray.

2 Responses to “Maybelline The Nudes Palette Review”

  1. Erin September 18, 2015 at 2:53 pm #

    I’m kind of disappointed from reading your review! The only thing stopping me from buying one of Maybelline’s palettes for myself was the fact that I think I have enough eye shadow. I would kind of rather not needing a method to apply it, primer is one thing, but a whole method is a bit too much for me!

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab September 18, 2015 at 3:13 pm #

      Yes, unfortunately these can be a bit chalky when you apply them without primer. I used the wetting technique because I found they didn’t blend as well if I didn’t. I wish it was a better formula honestly!

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

