How To: Maintain Healthy Hair

21 Sep

Hey guys!

Those of you that have ever dyed your hair (especially with bleach) understand the damage that follows with it. I got my highlights done in the beginning of the summer, and it completely dried out my hair. I used color corrective toning shampoo because I wanted to lighten the color up a bit, and it left my hair extra dry and brittle.

I still use some products, like sea salt spray or texturizing spray, which can often leave the hair thirsty for moisture. Here are some tips and products I use to give my locks some much needed TLC!

 PreventDamage

1. Use heat thermal protectants and split end prevention products.

Not many people know this, but all of that frequent blow drying, hair curling, and straightening can cause split ends so much faster than your preferred timing. Without using any protection, I had to cut my hair earlier than every 3 months, and found myself with a bunch of split ends.

When I am going to use hot tools to style my hair, I do spray some of Tresemme’s heat protection spray. Whether I decide to leave my hair to air dry or blow dry depending on the day, I use TIGI’s split end repair cream. It’s a bit pricey, but I get it when it’s on sale. Oil on your ends is a big help, and I found HASK’s argan oil was the best for me. If you suffer from a ton of split ends like my hair does, these products are a god send.

LeaveInConditioners

2. Get a good leave-in conditioner.

Whenever I get out of the shower, I make it a point to apply some sort of leave in conditioning spray. Pantene Pro V’s repair detangler is a wonderful choice. At less than $6, this is an affordable product that you can pick up at your local drugstore. If you want the works, try it’s a 10 miracle leave-in spray. I found this formula has left my hair moisturized and soft hours after application, and it also offer thermal protection. It’s worth the money, from all of the benefits it offers you.

MakeHairMask

3. Treat your hair to a repair mask at least once every two weeks.

Here’s a step you can take that requires very little money, depending on what you use. You can go to the store and purchase a tub of hair mask, and I have tried some amazing ones. They can get a bit pricey, and for only using a mask once every two weeks, I decided to just start creating my own.

I take part olive oil, part coconut oil, and your conditioner of choice, and I lather it all up in my hair. I leave the mask in for about 35 minutes, and then rinse it all off using my regular shampoo and conditioner in the shower. The result is a nice, moisturized full head of hair. I love how my hair feels afterwards!

4. Use shampoo and conditioner fit for your hair type.

Last but not least, you need a shampoo and conditioner to treat your specific hair type and concerns. If you grab a set designed to lock in moisture, but not protect your colored hair, your color is going to fade and become dull extremely quickly. For example, I have thick, color treated hair.

I have been using a shampoo and conditioner designed for color treated hair, but I found it hardly left any moisture in my hair. I then switched to a set that was designed for thick, coarse, hair with color treating properties. I am much happier that I started to cater to my specific hair care needs. Everyone has different hair, and it’s important to “listen” to it.

AllProducts

Next time you’re feeling hopeless about the damage that has been done to your distressed mane, follow these tips. Remember, hair care is not just about using styling products and tools. You’ll want to prevent as much damage as you can, all while embracing healthy hair.

Until next time, I hope these tips have helped you like they have me. Thanks for reading!

Products Listed

Tresemme Keratin Smooth Heat Protection Shine Spray

Pantene Pro-V Repair Light Detangler

it’s a 10 miracle leave-in product

HASK Argan Oil Repairing Shine Oil Vial

Tigi Catwalk Hairista For Split End Repair

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

