Free 15 piece ULTA Beauty Bag Review

1 Nov

Hey everyone!

I got this free beauty bag along with a purchase of a select ULTA Collection item, some time ago at ULTA. There were 15 pieces to this bag, and I wanted to take my time to properly test them out and make a good review for you guys. Some days I don’t wear makeup, so the on the days that I do, I have been reaching for this bag.

Note: Since these were sample sizes, I couldn’t find those to link below. Some were not available to link. Yet for the ones that were linked, I found the full sizes for you guys if you’re interested. So let’s get right to it!

IMG_4852

The eyeliner dual is super creamy. I loved how smudgeable this is, to create smokey looks. It came in the color black and dark brown, and I reach for this one often. I wouldn’t say it’s an “out of this world” eyeliner, but it will do.

I couldn’t find this item separate from the bag on the website, and I’m not sure if it was just exclusive to this packaging. I’m happy I have it though, as dual ended products are life!

As far as the lip products, I’m in total love with the lip gloss in sheer opal that they’ve put in my bag. The formula is creamy and thick, without being too heavy. It doesn’t last very long, but it is the perfect size to carry in my purse and use whenever I want a little sheer glow on my lips. I like to add it to the middle of a nude lipstick to give it a 3D effect as well.

IMG_4864

The Matte lipstick in Basically Berry is not really my ideal of matte lipstick. I expected it to last for long hours. This wasn’t the case. I had to apply it a few times on my lips for it to show up evenly, as this lipstick does apply somewhat patchy.

I also don’t like how it looks while it’s wearing off. You’ll have to bring a touch up mirror wherever you go, and be ready to reapply often. I use it sparingly, and will probably use it more during the holidays. Would I go out and repurchase this one? No.

IMG_4913

The most disappointing piece of this beauty bag had to be the Blush/Highlighter Duo is Sunkissed. They were super powdery, and when I swatched them, they did look promising.

The blush appeared to be more of a bronzer, and that one didn’t even show up on the skin when I applied it. ULTA, please develop a better highlight and blush duo. I would be happy if they released just a decent highlighter.

IMG_4916

What I did love was how pigmented and gorgeous two of their eyeshadow quads were. I highly recommend when at ULTA that you pick up their eyeshadows in Iceland, Moonbeam, Peacock and Sapphire. The colors on these are so extremely gorgeous. I am in love with Moonbeam, as it’s a nice periwinkle color.

IMG_4917

The other palette I’m obsessed with was the quad containing Champagne, Aztec Gold, Verdigris and Molten. The hues are earthy, yet have a satin, silky finish to them. As you can see these are highly pigmented. I just love them. These two are by far the best eyeshadow quads I’ve tried from ULTA.

IMG_4915

The one that I could do without was their quad containing Innocence, Havana Nights, Buttercream and Blackout which are supposed to be your basic mattes. They were all very pretty, but didn’t swatch good. They look better on the lids surprisingly with primer! Here’s a look I created using all three quads!

IMG_4873

It was the Glitter Top Coat shadows in Maintenance/Gold Digger that were absolutely gorgeous. Just add them to any black or gold color to enhance the pigmentation of a color. I will be using the glitter black for new years for sure. I used Gold Digger in the look I created, as well as the Brow Tint in Light.

IMG_4914

Now, I’m not a blonde naturally, but even when I rock the brunette color, I love me some light taupe on the eyebrows. Some people are afraid to wear it on top of their natural dark brows, but this gives the eyebrows a “smokey grey” type of feel.

This can really enhance them if you ever want to play with blonde hair, or just want a natural look with feathered brows. Ladies, I suggest you do try at least once in your lifetime a light brow tint. That look you’ve been looking to recreate, is a very simple step some have been overlooking.

IMG_4872

ULTA’s Lengthening Mascara is just okay, and is also used in the look shown above. Ever since I tried the Neutrogena Healthy Mascara, I swear by it. The one from ULTA however, has a flimsy wand, making it difficult to add precision.

This is going to be my back up mascara, and my mascara for the lower lash line. I will give it credit, it works amazing on that part of the eyes best.

The brush set was great. Although the blush brush is a bit too soft for me, I like to use it to dust off or dust on any setting powders under the eyes. The sponge tip applicator brush was surprisingly beneficial, as adding top coat glitter to my eyeshadows has become much easier with this brush.

FullSizeRender

If I wanted to create a crease or add a dab of highlighter to the inner corners of my eyes, the eye shadow brush works wonders for me. All in all, I use all of these brushes often and I’m happy with them.

Finally the nail polish in Bittersweet was definitely an indication that ULTA was just as ready for fall as I was. I love how deep the color is, a dark red that appears somewhat black. I am a huge fan of dark nail colors.

This one lasted just as any other nail polish would, chipped within a week. It’s a great color though, and I’m glad they selected this one to add to the bag.

FullSizeRender

Whew, that was a long post! Thanks for sticking with me, and learning about some of the products available at ULTA. I wasn’t really a fan of ULTA Collection makeup products until I received this little goodie bag, and now I know what kinds of gems they do have.

Not all of the eyeshadows are great, but their shimmer ones are awesome. I probably won’t be investing in a highlighter or blush there, and I won’t be getting a matte lipstick from there either.

I’m glad I figured out my favorites, and if you have any ULTA Collection favorites that work great for you, let me know. Thanks so much for reading!

Products listed

Matte Lipstick in Basically Berry

Blush/Highlighter Duo in Sunkissed

Salon Formula Nail Lacquer in Bittersweet

Legendary Lengths Lengthening Mascara

Glitter Eye Shadow Top Coat in Maintenance/Gold Digger

Eye Shadow Quad in Iceland, Moonbeam, Peacock and Sapphire

Eye Shadow Quad in Innocence, Havana Nights, Buttercream and Blackout

Eye Shadow Quad in Champagne, Aztec Gold, Verdigris and Molten

Mineral Lip Gloss in Sheer Opal

Dual Ended Eye Liner in Black and Deep Brown

Brow Tint in Light

3 pc travel brush set

One Response to “Free 15 piece ULTA Beauty Bag Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. November Monthly Favorites | The Gift of Gab - November 30, 2015

    […] You can see swatches, and read full reviews of the other products I received in that haul, here. I have tried ULTA brand eye shadows in the past, and to be honest, I hated them. I guess ULTA […]

    Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

