Top Products for Everyday Face Makeup

22 Jan

Hey there!

I talk about makeup looks I like to achieve during special occasions or when I’m not feeling “lazy”, but I never really talk about what products I reach for on an everyday basis.

Some of these you might have heard me talk about, and some will be the first time I mention them. What they all have in common? I’ve been using them for the longest time, because I love them so much!

The Rimmel Lasting Finish Primer holds up my makeup all day, and it feels so moisturizing upon application. This is a lotion primer, so if you’re more into silicone based ones, I don’t suggest this. I personally restock on this whenever I’m running low. This primer moisturizes, but quickly dries onto the skin.

IMG_6869

A drugstore foundation that is extremely affordable, and works wonders on my skin as far as tone match and coverage, is the Maybelline New York Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation. With my other foundations from Revlon and L’Oreal, I have to mix them in order to find my perfect shade.

If you’re looking for a wide variety of shades without having to go purchase two foundations, I suggest the Fit Me one. I’ve never found a drug store foundation that matched up my shade so perfectly like this one does. Though in the winter and summer, I do purchase different shades because I don’t get as much sun in the winter. The staying power is extended when combined with powder.

I use the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer only to highlight my face. I’ve found that it doesn’t cover my dark circles, and I don’t like the yellow undertones it has for the under eye. When I use it to highlight, it goes perfectly with my red pigmented skin, and accentuates the features. Best highlighting concealer if I ever saw one!

IMG_6881

One concealer that works total wonders on people with raccoon eyes like myself, is the NYX Dark Circle Concealer. This stuff is heaven sent! It’s super affordable and the coverage is buildable.

I use this concealer as my first layer, and then to combine, I go in with my concealer of choice for the day. I grab different ones for different effects, but this is the one I use constantly under all of them.

As far as extending your makeup, I’ve found the best solution is to use both liquids and powders. I live in a tropical climate, where it’s 80 degrees even in the winter time. Do you think I can pull off a full face of liquid makeup without it smearing all over? IMG_6872

No, that’s why I prefer to dab on my Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in two different shades. I use one to set my highlighter, and another to just set my face in general. I use it on top of all of the liquid, and then get into my setting mineral powder.

Speaking of setting, I use my NYX Set it Don’t Fret It Matte Finishing Powder every time I have makeup on this face. I do apply my bronzer, blush, contour, and highlight AFTER having set the face.

I’ve found setting your face first without adding all of the extras, helps for a smoother application and blendability of every other product. I stock up on my NYX favorites, just like this next one from the line.

IMG_6870

Once my face is set, I look like a ghost at this point. It’s time for some bronzing! I lucked out when I was at Sephora years ago, and my bronzing powder was on sale in the $5 bin.

Unfortunately, I’ve hit the pan on this one, and it’s also discontinued. Although, I am intrigued to explore the newer shades Sephora does offer in their bronzing collection. Hopefully I find some similar ones to 04 Maldives.

I don’t contour every day, but after I bronze my face, I top it off with some blush. One I cannot stop reaching for is the NARS Blush in Oasis. I bought this new on Poshmark for only $15, and it regularly goes for $30. Since owning this blush, all of my other ones hardly get some brush loving from me.

IMG_6873

Oasis is a beautiful mauve blush which is perfect for fall, with specs of glitter in it. The best part about it? The glitter fades once it’s on the skin. Unlike my summer time favorite blush, Milani’s Luminoso, which will freak you out how much glitter you have on your face once the light hits it.

We all have our favorites when it comes to everyday wear. What are some of yours? I love discovering new products, but now you know why I gravitate towards these on a daily basis. Thanks so much for reading, and enjoy your week!

Products Listed

Rimmel Lasting Finish Primer

Maybelline New York Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation Shade 235 Pure Beige

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Light

NYX Cosmetics Dark Circle Concealer in Medium

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 020 Nude Beige & 005 Silky Beige

NYX Cosmetics Mineral “Set It & Don’t Fret It” Matte Finishing Powder in Light/Medium

Sephora Collection Bronzing Powder in 04 Maldives – Discontinued | Similar

NARS Blush Oasis

2 Responses to “Top Products for Everyday Face Makeup”

  1. dyanne January 22, 2016 at 10:26 pm #

    The Fit Me concealer is everything to me! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

