Top 5 Netflix Shows I Recommend

12 Feb

Hey guys!

Are you on the Netflix bandwagon yet, and looking for good material to watch? Or did you just start out, and are wondering where the heck should you start at? As a self-proclaimed Netflix junkie, I happen to know a thing or two about some good shows and movies you guys should check out!

During my off time, I like to randomly pick stuff to watch. I do look up articles on suggestions, but I mostly go off of my personal interests. I thoroughly enjoy sociological documentaries, crime thrillers, and most of all, comedy! So let’s get right into my top 10, and why they might be worth checking out!

Jane the Virgin

Photo Credit: Tumblr 

Jane the Virgin

If you haven’t met Jane Glorianna Villanueva (Gina Rodriguez) yet, you’re going to breathe a sigh of relief when you do. This comedic show is refreshing in every way. As an American born into a deeply rooted Hispanic family from all sides of the spectrum, I’ve always felt I couldn’t identify with young women on television of my ethnicity, because the “stereo type” of what a Hispanic woman looks like fell short of my reality.

Jane is an American, and while she connects to her roots, the show doesn’t over emphasis what a young Latin American is today. Even if you’re not Hispanic, this show will entertain you. It’s very “with the times” so to speak, and she gets accidently artificially inseminated. It still airs on the CW, but if you’d like to catch up, Netflix is the way. Worth watching how it turns out!

House of Cards

Photo Credit: Tumblr

House of Cards

In this Netflix original series, former Republican U.S. Senator, now President of the United States of America Francis Underwood, does the unimaginable when he becomes the new commander in chief. You’ll have to catch up before the new political drama season airs on March 4th, but I will say that his rise to the presidency is documented in full detail.

Sometimes you won’t agree with him (actually most of the time), but you’ll come to love him and his wife Claire (Robin Wright) for their vindictive characters, and sometimes, their human side shows. If you love the idea of getting a behind the scenes look at a politician (fiction I suppose…), then you’ll love House of Cards. I suggest if you’re starting out, stick it out past episode 4… it gets good at 5!

Kimmy

Photo Credit: Tumblr

The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Now onto a lighter show, The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (Ellie Kemper) is a comedy about a woman who was kidnapped along with a group of other women by an apocalypse obsessed man (John Hamm) and after 15 years in confinement in a dooms-day bunker, Kimmy ventures to make a new life in New York City.

Her roommate, Titus (Tituss Burgess) is absolutely hilarious. He’s an aspiring Broadway star that is always there for Kimmy in her time of need. What’s ironic about this comedy series is that the story line sounds heartbreaking, but the scripts and actors are so hilarious, that you find humor in the sadness. It’s a great perspective of perseverance, and hard work in the big apple! New season start March 6th!

LieToMe

Photo Credit: IMBD.com

Lie to Me

This drama show originally aired on TV before it was cancelled, but now you can watch the series commercial free on Netflix. Dr. Cal Lightman (Tim Roth) runs The Lightman Group, an independent company, which assist in legal investigations. Their specialty is Applied Psychology, specifically reading body language.

With his team including his right hand woman, psychologist Dr. Gillian Foster (Kelli Williams), they’re unstoppable at getting to the truth, no matter how ugly it might be. If you like suspense, and never knowing which way a story will end up, Lie to Me will suck you in its vortex completely. Good luck trying to not stop watching once you start!

Orange Is The New Black

Photo Credit: Tumblr

Orange is the New Black

Piper Chapman has the perfect life. She’s about to get married, has a great career in PR, but that is until the past comes back to haunt her. She’s sent to prison for a past criminal offense for drug trafficking that shatters this perfect life to pieces. Piper’s ex-lover Alex Vause (Laura Prepon) is then sent to the same facility as she is, and the story plays on from there. I could go on about how the timeline develops, but I’d feel like it would be giving too much away with this series.

The characters you meet along the way will have extensive backgrounds that the show will focus on, but it will be none the less very interesting. Seeing how inmates live inside of jail, and their everyday lives is far from boring. This series is based on author Piper Kerman’s own experiences in prison, and is loosely based off of her life. I would consider this a psychological comedy, which takes a certain audience to stick to. I understand this show isn’t for everyone, but I thoroughly enjoy it. New season starts June 17!

There you have it, my top 5 favorite series on Netflix today. Have you guys watched any of these series? Also if you have any recommendations yourselves, make sure to tag me in your own posts or just comment below letting me know what you guys love!

Thanks for reading, and have a wonderful week!

Shows Mentioned

Jane the Virgin

House of Cards

The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Lie to Me

Orange is the New Black

 

6 Responses to “Top 5 Netflix Shows I Recommend”

  1. Erin February 12, 2016 at 3:49 pm #

    Ah, The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and Orange is the New Black are two of my absolute favourite Netflix series! Kimmy Schmidt is such a cute, funny show – so perfect for downtime. And Orange is, well, amazing!

    I haven’t seen the rest of your suggestions, Jane the Virgin looks really good, though.

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elainea February 12, 2016 at 5:56 pm #

    I recently binged on Kimmy Schmidt and it just cracks me up! So silly and light hearted and I love it! House of Cards and OITB are also some of my favs. I’ll have to check out Jane the Virgin!

    elainea
    toast the girl almighty

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gift Of Gab February 12, 2016 at 6:02 pm #

      I know Kimmy cracks me up as well as all the other characters on the show! House of Cards and OITNB are awesome in their own ways as well, but I think you will like Jane the Virgin as well! Enjoy! 🙂

      Like

  3. Samantha February 28, 2016 at 9:04 pm #

    Love Lie to Me! 🙂

    S .x http://ramblingsofayoungprgirl.blogspot.com/

    Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

