2016 Favorites Skincare Products

11 Mar

Hey everyone!

I am constantly on the hunt for new skincare products, and my skin has changed drastically since last year’s skincare favorites post. I now have skin that breaks out for everything, and many skin allergies. What a difference a year makes!

IMG_8083

I used to use the ULTA Cleansing System, but since I got the lovely gift on my birthday last year, I just can’t seem to put my Clarisonic Mia 2 down. It’s a gorgeous pink color, and the one I received was limited edition and no longer available, but I’ve linked another limited edition pink Mia 2 below if you’re interested!

I pair my Mia 2 with the Satin Precision Brush Head, which feels like heaven on my skin. I found that the brush head that came with my Mia 2 was way too harsh for my skin, and I’ve seen similar complaints on the internet. The key is to replace your brush head with one that’s more suited for your skin. I found out about the Satin Precision because Sephora had a Black Friday sale, and since they were $10 each, I stocked up and got 3 of them. They originally go for $30 apiece. Watch out for those deals if you own a Clarisonic or plan to!

IMG_8085

As far as removing my makeup, my tried and true Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes will never fail me. I’m always up for trying out new makeup wipes, but I keep coming back to these. I feel like they remove my makeup the best, and I only need to use one wipe. My old Garnier ones worked good, but not as good as these. I’ll probably never stop using them unless the makeup gods release a super product. Though I have heard micellar water is where it’s at right now as far as skincare trends! Can’t say I’ve tried any at the moment.

When it comes to toners, the Olay Oil-Minimizing Toner is wonderful. I used to use an alcohol free toner, and now that I use one with alcohol, it keeps the bacteria on my face at bay. My skin feels great after using it, as it also has witch hazel in it. People recommend toners without alcohol, but I feel it’s necessary for my skin type. I happen to be an oil slick with lots of breakouts, and I felt this kept everything at bay.

IMG_8086

My new moisturizer is nothing to joke about. The Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel is perfection in a bottle with a pump. All you need is one pump to cover your face and neck, and you’re good to go. I have been looking for a moisturizer that will work with my skin allergies since I’ve developed them, and this product has worked wonders for me. There’s no scent to it, and it’s perfect for sensitive, oily, skin! Even if you don’t have oily skin, I bet this will work just as good as any other moisturizer. I feel everyone can and should use it at least once in their lifetime.

I’ve also developed huge pores. It’s been a bit embarrassing, because you can see them underneath my makeup. I’ve tried every pore minimizing primer, and it does nothing for me. Instead, I’ve turned to a skincare product that keeps the blackheads under control. Dr. Brandt’s PoreDermabrasion has helped minimize my pores so much. The trick is to use it once a week, after you’ve washed your face, just apply a little bit of the product and work it into the pores. I then let it sit for 2-3 minutes, and rinse it off. After you remove it, your pores look fresh and clean!

IMG_8087

Finally, since I breakout randomly, I like to use the Peter Thomas Roth Cucumber Mask when I feel my skin needs to be soothed. The ingredients are mostly based around cucumber and aloe vera, which is perfect for skin irritations and inflammations. The gel mask is clear, so you won’t be able to see it once you apply it. It dries completely, and all you need is 5 minutes with this mask on. After rinsing it off, my skin feels smooth and soothed. I then add my toner and moisturizer.

Although my skincare routine has changed drastically, I feel that it’s changed for the better. The products I used to use would wreak havoc on my skin today, and I’m glad I’ve found products better suited for my skin, and feel like they help out in a major way. If you guys have tried skincare products that eventually didn’t work out for you, or you’ve found some great products for sensitive skin, let me know! I love hearing skincare stories, and it always fascinates me how skin changes over time!

Hope you guys have found this helpful, and thanks so much for reading!

Products Mentioned

Clarisonic Mia 2 Skin Cleansing System

Clarisonic Satin Precision Brush Head

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

Olay Oil-Minimizing Toner

Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes

Peter Thomas Roth Cucumber Mask

Dr. Brandt PoreDermabrasion

2 Responses to “2016 Favorites Skincare Products”

  1. Jasmine Riel March 11, 2016 at 3:53 pm #

    Great list! I really want to invest in a clarisonic one day. And that Olay toner sounds awesome – maybe I’ll switch to that once I run out of my Biore Astringnt (which I love!).

    Jasmine | The Sixth Disney Princess

    Like

    • The Gift Of Gab March 11, 2016 at 4:19 pm #

      As long as you get the appropriate brush head that feels comfortable on your skin, I’m sure you’ll enjoy the Clarisonic! Def try the Olay toner if you’re a fan of alcohol toners. It’s lovely! 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

