April Ipsy Glam Bag Review

25 Apr

Hey there,

April has come and gone you guys! How crazy that in just a week I graduate, and the week after, I’m off on my graduation cruise. I promise to have a destination post following the weeks after that, but for now let’s talk Ipsy! I feel like I received some products I can use on my upcoming vacation, and also on a daily basis. Let’s get down to how I feel about this month’s April Glam Bag!

IMG_8753

The theme was “Dream On”, in which Ipsy’s aim was to allow its users to create looks that celebrate every side of beauty, whether it’s natural or glammed up! The bag itself reminds me of Autumn, which is odd for a Spring/Summer bag. It can also pass for a tie-dye theme, but using the baby blue and warm toned yellow colors somewhat through me off. It’s a beautiful bag regardless.

IMG_8755

As a lip product, I received the Tarte Cosmetics LipSurgence lip crème in Wonder. This was actually my least favorite item this month. The lip crème is infused with their maracuja oil and while your lips will stay hydrated, your actual lip color will easily smear around. This is not a long lasting lip crème, and is a hassle to wear in the hot summer time in Florida. I even received this lip crayon all smeared. I’ve tried to freeze it and everything, and yet it still feels like clay on my lips. Tarte says this would also make a great cheek tint, but I’ll save my pores the hassle this summer.

IMG_8754

I received my first highlighter from Ipsy! Trust Fund Beauty’s That Glo Tho Face Highlighter originally goes for $20, and it’s a decent highlight base. It’s not that great of a highlighter on its own, especially if you’re really about that “glo” like I am. I found this works best as a subtle highlight to wear in professional settings by itself with some setting powder, as well as adding your favorite powder highlighter onto of the That Glo Tho. This is a cruelty free highlighter, incase that’s what you’re looking for in your makeup products. I hope the next highlighter I receive from Ipsy makes up for this product.

REN Skincare’s Evercalm Global Protection Day Cream claims to transform sensitive skin in 21 days, and for the price of $45, so I initially had high hopes. I haven’t owned this product for 21 days yet, but on the second day, I had an allergic reaction to it. I cringe when Ipsy sends me skincare products, because its always up to my skin whether I like it or not. This is REN Skincare’s #1 selling moisturizer, and while it contains Leghemoglobin (protects against UV ray damage), it doesn’t contain sunscreen, which is also what I look for in a day cream. I’ll be passing this one on to someone who could make better use of it than I could!

IMG_8756

My favorite thing I received in my April Glam Bag? The Crown C427 Duo Fiber Blush Brush! I love this brush so much for highlighting! It’s a little too soft to be a blush brush for my taste, and I have been needing a brush to apply my powder highlighters. The bristles on this brush as silky soft, and the handle has a nice ridge where your fingers can grip for better precision. I have nothing bad to say about this brush, and I hope to receive more Crown brushes in the future!

Finally, I got to try the Pur~lisse face masks, and they are so useful! So far I’ve tried the Blue Lotus + White Tea Sheet Mask at a time where my face was very irritated. I felt the oils did help, and the mask did claim to sooth. These paper masks have been all the rage lately, so it was nice to get to try at least two of them. The other one I received was the Blue Lotus + Seaweed Sheet Mask, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy that one as well once I try it.

IMG_8757

That’s it for my April Ipsy Glam Bag review! Have you signed up for Ipsy to try these products out for yourself yet? If you are already member, let me know what items you received down below, and how you liked them.

Have a great upcoming month in May!

Products Listed

Ipsy Bag Subscription

Tarte Cosmetics LipSurgence lip crème in Wonder

Trust Fund Beauty That Glo Tho Face Highlighter

REN Skincare Evercalm Global Protection Day Cream

Crown Brush C427 Duo Fiber Blush Brush

Pur~lisse Beauty Blue Lotus + White Tea Sheet Mask & Blue Lotus + Seaweed Sheet Mask

One Response to “April Ipsy Glam Bag Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. June Monthly Favorites | The Gift of Gab - June 27, 2016

    […] with my first Crown Brush that I’ve ever owned, the C427 Blush Brush. I received this in my April Ipsy Glam Bag, and it’s been put to good use. Though I decided not to use this as a blush brush as it was […]

    Like

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

