My Holy Grail Beauty Products

22 Jul

Hi there!

Ever buy into the latest fad/trend in beauty products, and when you’re in the store you pick it up spontaneously and never use it again? Yea, this isn’t a blog post about the forgetful. These are my all-time favorite, beauty products that I never quit. I swear by them, because they work for me every time I apply them. If they are listed in this post, it’s because I’ve tried these products time and time again. Trust me, I won’t fail you with this one.

My favorite facial primer of all time, is not a primer at all. Some people might have jumped on this bandwagon like I did, and some might be too embarrassed to ever try it. The Nivea Post Shave Balm is amazing at keeping your makeup on all day long. Every liquid, powder and loose mineral, is blendable on the face with this balm as the initial primer, so expect a long wearing result. I love how it holds everything together, even though the hot, humid Florida weather we have all year long! For less than $7 at your local drugstore, I highly recommend everyone try this product as a facial primer at least once.

IMG_9912

I sometimes grab my Maybelline Fit Me Foundation, but it’s not as reliable as my L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation. I usually mix this foundation with the L’Oreal Paris Magic Lumi Primer, to soften the harsh finish around the mouth and nose, as the foundation does tend to cling on dry areas. The Infallible Pro-Matte gives the best coverage for a drugstore foundation that I’ve ever come across. The Magic Lumi Primer adds an extremely soft “glow” to any foundation, while adding a semi-dewy finish to any look. You can wear it as a primer, or on areas you’d like to focus and emphasis on for highlighter.

As far as powders are concerned, the Stay Matte Pressed Powder by Rimmel London is the perfect multi-purpose powder. I like to use this build up coverage on the lids after concealers and before an eyelid primer, I use it under the eyes to set concealer, as well as any areas I’ve highlighted with concealer on my face. The NYX Cosmetics Set It Don’t Fret It Matte Finishing Powder is so underrated.

IMG_9908

I always see beauty vloggers/bloggers speak about the HD Powder by NYX, but when it comes to this one, you only hear crickets. What I love most about this matte setting powder, is that it comes in different skin tone shades. I set my entire face with this, and my under eye area as well as the lids before putting on eyeshadow. Hardly any flashback happens when you take a photo, and the container is big enough to store product for months!

If you suffer from dark under eye circles, that means you’ll be needing a nice orange based product to apply on before your main concealer. My favorite, and most affordable dark circle concealer product has got to be the NYX Dark Circle Concealer in Medium. I always prep the eye area with applying a coat of this all around the lid where there is darkness, to the bottom. There’s no need to spend a lot of money on a color corrector, at least I feel. Speaking of affordable concealers, the one that I keep reaching for to highlight parts of my face is the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Light.

IMG_9910

After I apply my foundation, I take this and spread it on the areas I need extra coverage, and then set it with my Stay Matte Pressed Powder by Rimmel London. Sometimes I even put a dot or two on the under eye area to “secure” my other concealers before parties where I know there will be photographs taken. Yet the best concealer of all time (maybe even without a corrector if you slab it on much) is the Amazing Cosmetics Amazing Concealer.

I am in the shade Light Beige, and while this concealer is on the expensive side, never miss out during Black Friday, because chances are the full sized product will be on sale and cost just as much as the smaller tube. The coverage is amazing, but the product is heavy so it’s best to use with a setting powder. It’s worth getting the larger tube because it will last you about a year before you even need to refill!

Getting into my holy grail lip products, the first product is a balm without any tint. Carmex is a smooth lip lover’s dream. Not many people like the taste or scent of it, but then again I’m someone who can withstand medicated smells such as Bengay, Icy Hot, and VIX Vapor Rub. Carmex is not quite as strong of a smell, but then benefits out way any downsides to this product.

IMG_9911

The balm makes sure to protect your lips all day long, and applying it can be addicting. I found that since I use it so much and buy it literally by the pack, my lips dry out quickly if I don’t have a tube readily available. I’ve become physically dependent on it, as well as mentally. For how soft and supple it keeps my lips, I’m not complaining either.

The next two lippies are the perfect combinations for my skin tone. I like to use a Matte Lip Cream in Abu Dhabi, and a Butter Gloss in Fortune Cookie by NYX together. I find that when I use Abu Dhabi alone, the lines of my lips show up more, and I look a little dull. Yet when I pair it with a bright nude like Fortune Cookie, the combination just comes to life on my lips. In fact, I have an Everyday Makeup Routine coming to my channel next month, where I demonstrate just how good of a pair these two really are. That way you guys can see it live in action! You’re welcome for the combo suggestion.

BH Cosmetics blessed me when they created the Carli Bybel Palette. The fact that you can now purchase this at ULTA, speaks volumes about this product’s success with its consumers. I had to wait for the second round to purchase this palette, because it was sold out the first time.

I hope it becomes a permanent staple in the BH line, because when I hit the pan on these shadows, I’ll be depressed. Literally these highlighters and eyeshadows have THE BEST pigmentation for the price and quantity of product you get in them. With 12 beautiful interchangeable eyeshadows, along with four highlighters that can also be used as eyeshadows, can you really lose when you purchase this. I guarantee, not.

IMG_9913

Are you still with me? If you are, I’ve saved the best for last. If you’re looking for a liquid eyeliner that makes precision easier, and creates edges that can cut through your soul, look no further than the Illamasqua Precision Ink. I received the shade Abyss in one of my Ipsy Glam Bags, and since trying it, I’ve never looked back. That fact, and the one where I received a product over $20 along with 5 others for only $10 a month.

I think I was a winner that month. I swear I will keep on repurchasing his liner until I find a better one, and I have tried many liquid eyeliners. The applicator is very similar to that of the Urban Decay liquid liners, while the color is a matte black and the formula is long lasting, even through tears. I’ve tested it, and yes, even the toughest makeup removing wipes/oils do experience a hard time against this product.

IMG_9909

The CoverGirl Plumpify Mascara will go down as my favorite drugstore mascara of all time. You don’t even need an eyelash curler wand to help you achieve the volume you desire for less than $8. I picked this one up last year in November at CVS, and I cannot put it down.

Whenever I’m on the go, I grab this mascara the most because the tip of the wand can be used to push the product up your lashes, and help achieve that falsies look in less than 3 minutes. If it’s at your local drugstore, and you’re constantly in a rush but want to look snatched without much effort, check this one out.

When I first started writing this post, I thought my readers would be a bit winded by the end of it. Yet, just what type of beauty product lover would I be to leave you hanging as to WHY these are my holy grails? Thanks so much for reading through, and I hope you’ve all enjoyed this post!

Next time you’re at your local drugstore, Sephora, or ULTA, give these a shot. Comment below if any of these are already on your holy grail list. Have a great week!

Products Mentioned

Nivea Post Shave Balm for Sensitive Skin

L’Oreal Paris Magic Lumi Primer

Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation in Shell Beige

NYX Cosmetics Set It Don’t Fret It Matte Finishing Powder

NYX Cosmetics Dark Circle Concealer in Medium

Amazing Cosmetics Amazing Concealer in Light Beige

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in Light

Carmex Moisturizing Lip Balm

NYX Cosmetics Butter Gloss in Fortune Cookie

NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Cream in Abu Dhabi

BH Cosmetics Carli Bybel Palette

CoverGirl Plumpify Mascara in Black

Illamasqua Precision Ink in Abyss

2 Responses to “My Holy Grail Beauty Products”

  1. ALittleDoseofMakeup (@_adoseofmakeup) July 22, 2016 at 5:22 pm #

    I love the Carli Bybel Palette, the shades are stunning! Lovely picks!

    xx, A Little Dose of Makeup

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

