Best Nail Polishes: Summer 2016

5 Aug

Hey there!

For those of you who’ve been subscribed to The Gift of Gab for a while now, you might remember that last year I posted my favorite nail polishes for the Fall of 2015. I’m here to chat about the one’s I’ve been liking for Summer 2016! During the Summer and Spring season, I like to wear pastels, nudes, and at times a bit of a shock color if I know I’ll be out at a daytime party or hanging at the beach.

Some are wearable for every occasion, while other’s you might want to try to wear on the weekends if your work is in a professional setting. I’m a sucker for nude polishes, but I figured I can cater to all types of polish lovers for this season’s favorites!

IMG_9739

If you want bright colors, but not to an overwhelming extent, I suggest picking up the OPI New Orleans Collection Set. It comes with four colors of their New Orleans line which are: Got Myself into a Jam-balaya, Take a Right on Bourbon, I’m Sooo Swamped! and Show Us Your Tips! My personal favorites out of the set are Sooo Swamped! and Show Us Your Tips! I find that they are both gorgeous blues and greens for the summer, while having dimension to them. They are a duller version of a true bold.

I want to switch over to the nude and blush toned polishes I cannot leave out for the summer. This is my go-to personally, and I love that a nice nude toned polish is favorable for all seasons of the year. Starting with my top pick, Dulce de Leche, is one of the best nudes I feel will go with any skin tone. The DERMELECT ‘ME’ polish in Commando is a few shades darker than Dulce de Leche, so it’s quite similar if I had to pick a dupe. I received this polish in my November Ipsy Glam Bag of 2015, so if you’d like a more in-depth description of it, check that post out.

As far as blush toned polishes, I highly recommend Diva Bride by China Glaze and Bittersweet by Nina Ultra Pro. I feel that Bittersweet is a true medium blush along with plum shade, and Diva Bride is perfect for when you want that fresh semi-french mani look. They’re both gorgeous shades, so if you’re looking for those types of colors, pick those up!

IMG_9741

Now we can jump back into the bold and the beautiful. Vermillionare by Essie is a bright orange, with a hint of shimmer when reflected in the light. You can either wear this one out on Halloween, or summer time which makes it appealing. Orange nails I find are just as original and creative as yellow ones (sorry I don’t have any yellows on this list, because I myself have yet to find one I like). Another Ipsy Glam Bag discovery was the Formula X Power Source nail polish.

I like Formula X because it’s long wearing, and I am a fan of coral colors for the season. It reminds me of being away on a tropical vacation, while sipping on a strawberry frozen margarita. Nice scene I painted there, huh? Miami Beet by OPI is a deep rosy plum shade, and it’s beautiful in the summer. This shade might look dark, but once it’s on the nails, it’s buildable so if you’d like a lighter tone, I suggest just one layer or two. I personally love the deeper shade, so I stick to three layers!

If you like bright with glitter specs, plus affordability, I think the Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear polish in Violet Voltage is the next one to pick up at your local drugstore. This is a truly bold lilac purple, that has a good amount of glitter in it. Yet it’s not hard to take off, which is a relief to everyone that fears glitter nail polish. Influenster was nice enough to send me this one for free, and I’m glad I got to experience it!

IMG_9740

The Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure polish in Jaded is a bright blue turquoise, that could be also described as a deep aqua. This color is gorgeous, and reminds me of the ocean in the tropics. I usually grab colors like these during this season, because it adds a pop of color to your nails, yet it isn’t too distracting as it is still in the paler range, making it wearable to any occasion.

Finally, I have one of my all-time favorite OPI nail polish colors in Alpine Snow. This shade is wearable all year long, and it looks like pure white out. I feel that white nail polish is so classy, and wearable with any outfit. This is one shade I’ll probably keep repurchasing when the formula gets dry or I run out!

What are some of your favorite summer polish shades? Let me know, as I’m always looking for new ones to try! Hope you’ve found this post helpful, and have a great summer!

Products Mentioned

OPI New Orleans Collection 4-Pc. Mini Pack

OPI Nail Lacquer in Dulce de Leche

China Glaze Nail Lacquer in Diva Bride

Nina Ultra Pro Nail Enamel in Bittersweet

DERMELECT ‘ME’ Peptide Infused Lacquer in Commando Terra Cotta

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Nail Color in Jaded

Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Color in Violet Voltage

Formula X The Colors Nail Polish in Power Source

Essie Nail Polish in Vermillionare

OPI Nail Lacquer in Miami Beet

OPI Nail Lacquer in Alpine Snow

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

