August Ipsy Glam Bag Review

26 Aug

Hey guys!

The August Ipsy Glam Bag was quite different this month, although I haven’t tried most of these items as of yet. I have a new busy schedule, but I still wanted to let you guys know what I got, along with personal thoughts on these items, as I will be reviewing some.

The theme was “Sugar Highness”, which shows all of the Ipsy girls in colorful wigs, and dreamy settings. The bag was illustrated by Michelle Phan herself, and I absolutely love it. It’s one of my favorite bags in a long time, because it’s so original!

IMG_0525

I haven’t received a hair care product in a long time from Ipsy, not since my Garnier Primer spray which was such a generous full-size, and I quite enjoyed it while it lasted. This time, I received a product that I thought would be a dupe for It’s A 10 Leave-In Treatment Spray. Even the brand/product name were closely similar. The It Haircare 12-in-one Amazing Leave-In Treatment, claims to achieve 12 tasks while it does work on your hair.

The description promises to: Get rid of Frizz; De-tangle; Treats brittle ends; Adds body; Leaves hair shiny; Maintains hair health; Repairs dry hair; Repairs damaged hair; Protects hair; Works on color-treated hair; Protects against heat; Protects against split-ends; Protects against breakage. Whew, that was a mouthful. If a product claims to do so much, I expect a lot from it once I test it out. I have yet to see any results indicating that this treatment is anything spectacular. Though I can say, it made my hair feel soft, and it smells delicious. As a leave-in conditioning treatment, it’s actually decent.

IMG_0522

I got to try a primer, mask, and moisturizer all in one for the first time as well. This Works in-transit camera close-up is pricey in regular size, at $60 a bottle. It’s raved about by magazine brands such like Elle, and celebrities such as a Victoria Beckham. It’s supposed to give your skin a lively look, as it contains caffeine. It also claims to erase signs of fatigue, and it has an SPF of 30. I haven’t used this one yet, but seeing as I easily break out into skin allergies, I might be passing this one along in the end.

OFRA Cosmetics came out with highlighters this year, and I’ve wondered when I should purchase one to try out. Luckily, I received a sample size of the OFRA and @DupeThat collaboration product, “You Glow Girl”! Their highlighters go for around $25, so I was pleased that I didn’t have to spend that much for a full-size. The highlighter is a rosy pink, and claims to be long-lasting. I’m a sucker for highlighters, and this one is gorgeous!

IMG_0524

I always like receiving nail polishes from Ipsy, because they’ve all been of good quality so far. This month, I got to try my first Ciate London Gelology nail polish in Spinning Teacups. Ciate London carries an expensive line, starting at $15 per polish. That’s more than OPI or Essie, so I told myself I wouldn’t invest in a bottle unless it came in a sample. The gel formula is made to last long, but I’ve had my hopes crushed by polishes that claimed the same thing this year (you’ll read about it in an upcoming post).

IMG_0556

You can read the descriptions of polishes all you want, but you’ll never know how it performs, unless you try it out for a few days on yourself. This color, is a bright lilac, and I loved it so much. The brush on this nail polish make for a very easy application. Just check out the result!

Finally, Ipsy sent me a $17 palette sample in my $10 bag, which had me intrigued to try it. I discovered Jelly Pong Pong Cosmetics, and their Neapolitan Palette. This is a limited edition palette, that includes hues to enhance the eyes, with a base, highlight, and contour shade included. Check out the pigmentation on these babies. I will probably be grabbing for these colors more often than not during the Fall season.IMG_0523

With everything I was sent this month, quality and price wise, I was pleasantly content. This is why I love Ipsy so much, because you get to try items that might have been costlier on their own, but yet only pay a minimum fee for a few more items included as well. Make sure to check Ipsy out, if you like to save on money, while receiving all new products each month to try out.

Thanks so much for reading, and enjoy the rest of your August!

Products Listed

Ipsy Bag Subscription

It Haircare 12-In-One Amazing Leave-In Treatment

This Works in-transit camera close-up

OFRA Cosmetics x @DupeThat “You Glow Girl” Highlighter

Ciate London Paint Pot in Dangerous Affair/Spinning Teacups

Jelly Pong Pong Cosmetics Neapolitan Palette

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

