Honey Mustard Chicken Recipe

12 Sep

Hey there!

Lately I’ve been cooking this recipe during my meal prep routine week. I haven’t posted one of these healthy recipes in a while, so I figured I’d give you all a yummy treat!

Cooking chicken in a crock pot can save you time, all while being able to stomach plain chicken breast, due to an Asian cuisine inspired sauce that I create. I freeze these meals once I finish cooking them, unless I plan on eating them that very same day, so please keep that in mind.

IMG_9967

What You’ll Need

  • Crock pot
  • Defrosted chicken breast (however many you want)
  • Chicken broth
  • Seasoned salt
  • Dijon mustard
  • Honey
  • Sesame oil (Optional)
  • Hoisin sauce
  • Soy sauce (Optional)

First, you’re going to want to create your sauce. Take a small bowl and fill it up half with Dijon mustard, and the other half with honey. Then you add a spoonful of hoisin sauce, and just a capful of soy sauce, and sesame sauce. Take your spoon, and mix well.

IMG_9969

Once your mixture has been created, you can fill the crock pot with some chicken broth, but make sure it isn’t too much. You can always go back once the chicken has been placed inside of it, and measure that way. I like to do it beforehand, because after I place the chicken (salted lightly), into the crock pot with the chicken broth already in, I also pour my sauce all over on top of the chicken. I mix slightly, so that the flavors are nice and spread out evenly on the chicken.

Unlike myself, you’re going to want to use a crock pot with a timer. If you’re home and have no timer on yours, then we’re on the same boat. If you don’t want the chicken to fall apart easily, then I suggest putting it on HIGH for just two hours.

I set my own timer at around 4.5 hours on HIGH, only because I want my chicken to shred easily. Shredded chicken is so much more delicious left over that one intact, because the juices stay on each strand much easier once frozen.

IMG_9991

After time is up, you’re then able to enjoy your deliciously flavored chicken. Check out this healthy combination I created, with some sweet potato fries as a side. This recipe is extremely simple, but can benefit both the same day cooker, along with the week-long meal prepper.

Have any of you guys found tricks to make your chicken taste better, longer? I hope you’ve enjoyed this recipe post!

Thanks for your comment! I will get back to you ASAP. In the mean time, make sure to subscribe! - Gabby

